Instant runoff voting (sometimes called in these nations other names like "preferential voting" in Australia) is used in the following countries:

  • Australia, to elect its House of Representatives since 1918 / To elect most state and local legislators
  • Republic of Ireland, to elect its president since 1938 (and multi-winner version used to elect is national parliament)
  • United Kingdom to elect mayor of London since 2000 (supplementary vote form / To elect 13 other British city mayors  / For Scottish local elections to fill vacancies / For leadership elections of Labour Party and Liberal Democratic Party
  • New Zealand, to elect imayor of its capital city Wellington since 2004 and in several other New Zealand cities, include Dunedin (and multi-winner version for health boards all across the nation)
  • Papua New Guinea, for parliamentary elections since 2004 (limited preferential voting variation with 3 rankings)
  • Sri Lanka, to elect its president (contingent vote variation) since 1978
  • Bosnia, for certain sub-national elections, since 2000
  • Bougainville (autonomous region of Papua New Guinea) first used IRV (limited preferential voting format) for presidential elections in 2008 and for parliamentary elections in 2010
  • Malta,  indirect elections for its president (and multi-winner  version for  parliament)
  • India for indirect elections for president and to parliamentary vacancies
  • Canada's Conservative Party and Liberal Party for leadership elections / Other leadership election uses including Progressive Conservative Party of Alberta and Liberal Party of British Columbia
  • Hong Kong's Legislative Council has four functional constituencies that use a preferential elimination system with a limited electorate